Russia Hits 121 Australians With ‘Russophobic Agenda’ Sanctions

Russia has announced that it will blacklist more Australian citizens, including defense officials, businessmen, reporters and publishers.

Russia has announced sanctions on an additional 121 Australian citizens, including businessmen, journalists and defense officials, citing a “Russophobic agenda”.

The blacklist has been drawn up in response to “increasing Australian Government sanctions, which apply to an increasing number of Russian citizens,” the ministry said.

Among those sanctioned are journalists from The Australian, ABC News, the Sydney Morning Herald and Sky News, as well as a number of defense officials, the Russian Foreign Ministry said on Thursday.

Others on the list include Defense Force chief General Angus Campbell, artificial intelligence researcher Toby Walsh and The Australian editor-in-chief Christopher Dore, who are banned from entering Russia “indefinitely”, the report said. ministry in a statement.

Australian mining magnate Gina Rinehart, Seven West Media chairman Kerry Stokes, Andrew Forrest and South Australian Premier Peter Malinauskas have also been added to the list.

Russia accused the sanctioned figures of promoting a “Russophobic agenda” and said the blacklist would be expanded in the future.

In April, Moscow announced entry bans on the leaders of Australia and New Zealand in a tit-for-tat move after Canberra and Wellington imposed sanctions on Russia following its February 24 invasion of Ukraine.

Russian military commanders and close associates of Putin, along with press secretary Dmitry Peskov and foreign ministry director of information Maria Zakharova, were among those sanctioned.

Russia announced a similar move against dozens of British journalists on Tuesday, in what Moscow said was a response to Western sanctions and the “spreading of false information about Russia.”

Originally Posted As Russia Hits 121 Australians With Sanctions Over ‘Russophobic Agenda’

Leave a Comment