Mumbai serves UP for 180, gains 346-run lead on Stumps

Mumbai continued their dominance over Uttar Pradesh on day 3 of the Ranji Trophy 2022 second semi-final in Bangalore on Thursday. Having cut UP to 25 for 2 by Stumps on Day 2 in response to their first innings total of 393, the Mumbai bowlers outscored their opponents by 180. They then went on to 133 for 1 late in the game, extending their lead to 346 runs. .

In her second inning, Mumbai captain Prithvi Shaw got the team off to a good start, smashing 64 in 71 balls. Shaw, who failed to find a place on the Indian team for Ireland’s T20Is, hit 12 fours in his impressive stroke.

Incredibly, Yashasvi Jaiswal did not open his account despite facing 52 balls when Shaw was sent off. He eventually went off the mark with a cap on his 54th delivery. Jaiswal was unbeaten on 35-for-114 balls at Stumps, while Armaan Jaffer was batting 32-for-67. The duo added 67 runs for second wicket.

Yashasvi Jaiswal is ready to play in all kinds of situations ๐Ÿ™Œ The courage and temperament he has at the age of 20 is so commendable ๐Ÿ‘

Earlier, UP continued to trip over the bat in their first innings. Skipper Karan Sharma (27) was the first batsman to go down on the day, dismissed by Mohit Avasthi. The batting team continued to lose at regular intervals as Rinku Singh (16), Dhruv Jurel (2) and Prince Yadav (20) perished for little money.

In the end, it took a whirlwind 55-ball 48 from Shivam Mavi to lift it up to 180. Avasthi, Tushar Deshpande and Tanush Kotian each claimed three wickets for Mumbai.

Rajat Patidar 63* puts MP ahead in Ranji Trophy 2022 First semi-final after Tiwary, Ahmed tons for Bengal

In the first semi-final of the 2022 Ranji Trophy in Alur, Madhya Pradesh took a 231-run lead from Stumps on Day 3. After Bengal finished their first innings with 273 in response to 341 MP, the 63* hit from Rajat Patidar stabilized MP in his second inning after losing his first games with 50 runs on the board.

Yash Dubey was caught lbw by Mukesh Kumar for 12 while Himanshu Mantri (21) was beaten by Pradipta Pramanik. Shubham Sharma retired on the 22nd, but Patidar and Aditya Shrivastava (34*) led the comeback to put MP in a decent position in the semi-final.

Earlier, Bengal extended their first innings from 197-for-5 to 273. Manoj Tiwary and Shahbaz Ahmed, who were undefeated at 84 and 72 respectively on the night, crossed triple figures. After completing his century, Tiwary showed a note and expressed his affection to his family for the support they have given him.

Manoj Tiwary displays a handmade note after marking the century to thank his family.

The batsman was dismissed for 102 of 211 balls, ending a position of 183 on the sixth wicket. The lower order didn’t put up much of a fight and Ahmed himself was the ninth wicket to drop, having contributed 116. From 237 for 5, Bengal dropped to 273 on aggregate as MP staged an impressive comeback. Kumar Kartikeya, Saransh Jain and Puneet Datey each claimed three tracts.

Leave a Comment