Golden Globes: The Power of the Dog and Succession win at celebrity-free ceremony | Golden Globes 2022

Dog power and succession were the big winners of an unusual and stripped-down Golden Globes.

Traditionally, the ceremony has been a glitzy TV show with all stars in attendance, but after a year of controversies surrounding diversity and amoral practices, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association has lost its foothold in the industry, ad agencies, studios and companies. celebrities choosing to distance themselves.

Sunday night’s event took place at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles, with no stars or audience, and only with a selection of members and beneficiaries. The results were announced via social networks.

Acclaimed Netflix drama The Power of the Dog was named Best Dramatic Feature, while Jane Campion became the third woman to win the Best Director Award. Kodi Smit-McPhee also won the award for Best Supporting Actor for his performance in the film.

Will Smith was named Best Actor in a Drama for King Richard, while Nicole Kidman won Best Actress in a Drama for playing Lucille Ball in Being the Ricardos. It was Kidman’s fourth win out of 16 nominations.

Steven Spielberg’s acclaimed remake West Side Story topped the musical / comedy categories, winning Best Picture, Best Actress for Rachel Zegler, and Best Supporting Actress for Ariana DeBose. Andrew Garfield was also named Best Actor in a Musical or Comedy for Tick, Tick… ​​Boom !.

On the television side, HBO’s hit drama Succession won awards for Best Drama, Best Actor for Jeremy Strong and Best Supporting Actress for Sarah Snook. The network also saw freshman series Hacks named Best Comedy and its star Jean Smart win the award for Best Actress in a Comedy Series. Jason Sudeikis was named Best Comedy Actor for Ted Lasso, while O Yeong-Su won Best Supporting Actor for Netflix’s Success Squid Game.

Jeremy Strong, Golden Globe winner, in succession. Photograph: Graeme Hunter / AP

MJ Rodriguez became the first trans woman to win Best Actress in a Drama Series for Pose. “This is the door that will open the door to a lot more young talent,” she wrote on Instagram. “They will see that it is more than possible.”

Kate Winslet was named Best Actress in a Limited Series for the acclaimed crime drama Mare of Easttown while Michael Keaton was named Best Actor in a Limited Series for the Hulu Dopesick opioid drama. Barry Jenkins’ period drama The Underground Railroad also won the award for Best Limited Series.

Other winners included Drive My Car in Japan for Best Non-English Film, Encanto for Best Animated Feature, Kenneth Branagh’s Belfast for Best Screenplay, No Time to Die for Best Original Song and Dune for Best. original music.

Staff members representing various nonprofits supported by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association were on hand to announce the winners. Arnold Schwarzenegger and Jamie Lee Curtis appeared on video to talk about the philanthropic efforts of the HFPA. “I am proud to be associated with them in this endeavor,” said Curtis, while Schwarzenegger praised the organization’s support in a variety of voices.

The event required proof of vaccination and a negative PCR test. Participants also had to be masked and socially distanced at all times.

After a series of Los Angeles Times briefings revealing a lack of diversity in HFPA voting members and a number of “ethical lapses,” the past 12 months have seen prominent actors including Tom Cruise and Scarlett Johansson , protesting against the association, as well as NBC deciding not to broadcast this year’s ceremony.

Attempts at remedial work included “overhauling” previously restrictive regulations, implementing changes in code of conduct and ethical practices, and the arrival of a diverse set of 21 new members.

“Last year the Hollywood Foreign Press Association was challenged to change – and we did,” said Helen Hoehne, its president. “Both internally, within the Association, as well as the addition of 21 members to bring new perspectives.

“We are on a path of change and we are not going to rest. We will speak candidly about what we are learning and challenge others to join us.

Kyle Bowser, senior vice president of the NAACP Hollywood Bureau, spoke about a five-year joint initiative to increase diversity, equity and inclusion. “Imagination is the motto that sustains and propels the entertainment industries,” he said at the ceremony.

Last year’s televised ceremony suffered a catastrophic 60% drop in viewership.

Sunday’s Critics Choice Awards were supposed to serve as an unofficial replacement, with celebrities in attendance and a televised ceremony, but the event was postponed due to an increase in Covid-19 cases.

This year’s Oscar nominations are expected to be announced on February 8, with the ceremony taking place on March 27.

Leave a Comment