Greens win key Queensland seat in parliament as Peter Dutton runs as Leader of the Opposition

While the state has traditionally voted for the National Liberal Party, winning 23 of 30 seats in 2019, today saw a notable swing towards Labor and the Greens.

In Queensland, Labor candidates retained seats in Blair, Lilley, Moreton, Oxley and Rankin, all in the south-east corner.

The majority of Queenslanders supported the coalition, which won 38.8 per cent of the vote in the primary. (Nine)

In 21 electorates, the LNP candidates kept their seats.

The ALP won 27.7 percent of the vote in the primaries, while the majority of voters, 38.8 percent, supported the LNP.

Bob Katter retained his Kennedy seat with the majority of voters supporting Katter’s Australia Party.

Anthony Albanese will be Australia’s next Prime Minister. (Nine)

In the south-east corner, many electorates saw a close contest between Labour, the LNP and the increasingly popular Greens, with the latter’s candidate for Griffith securing a historic victory for the minor party.

Max Chandler-Mather beat ALP’s Terri Butler for the Griffith venue, located south of the Brisbane River in the Queensland capital.

Former Prime Minister Kevin Rudd commented on Chandler-Mather’s victory in his old seat, adding that the Greens’ intense local campaigning ensured their victory.

“The local green party has run a very effective grassroots campaign,” Rudd said.

“They have been building towards this.”

Max Chandler-Mather of the Greens will represent Griffith’s headquarters. (Nine)

Speaking in Brisbane, he said the top issues on people’s minds were the cost of living, integrity within government and climate change, all of which influence the shifting votes of Queenslanders.

“There are multiple challenges across the country right now,” Rudd said.

“These all cut in different ways in different seats.”

There are still three seats to be called in Queensland, with the Greens hoping to secure another victory in Ryan’s seat.

Former Prime Minister Kevin Rudd commented on Chandler-Mather’s victory in his old seat, adding that the Greens’ intense local campaigning ensured their victory. (Nine)

The Greens’ candidate, Elizabeth Watson-Brown, currently holds 31.7 per cent of the first preference vote with the LNP’s Julian Simmonds securing 37.5 per cent of the vote.

The Brisbane seat, encompassing the central business district and inner city suburbs, was also seen as a major constituency to watch.

The seat has not yet been called due to fierce competition among the candidates.

The LNP’s Trevor Evans is believed to have conceded the seat, however competition remains tight between the ALP’s Madonna Jarrett and Greens candidate Stephen Bates.

LNP organizers admitted earlier in the evening that the numbers were “not very good”.

Leichhardt’s seat from Cairns in far north Queensland to Cape York was also dubbed one of the most noteworthy, ultimately falling to LNP member Warren Entsch, who has represented the electorate since 2010.

Peter Dutton will become the new leader of the opposition

Dickson’s seat was another important constituency for Brisbane with Peter Dutton retaining his seat against ALP member Ali France.

Dutton is now the favorite to become the new leader of the Liberal Party and Leader of the Opposition.

In a poll conducted by 9News, 56.7 percent of voters believed that Scott Morrison should remain the leader of the opposition, while 29.1 percent believed that Dutton should be the new leader of the party.

Nine’s political editor, Chris Uhlmann, said those who hoped the Liberal Party would become more moderate would be “gutted” if Dutton became leader of the opposition.

“Those people who think that now is a time when the Liberal Party will move to a more moderate side, they have been destroyed,” Uhlmann said.

“This has been a defeat for the moderate wing of the Liberal Party.”

Senate votes are still being counted. (Nine)

Votes are still being counted to decide who will form the new Senate.

In Queensland, 31.3 per cent of voters supported the LNP candidates and 24.2 per cent voted for the ALP.

The Greens received 14.1 per cent of the vote, One Nation received 7.8 per cent of the vote and Clive Palmer’s United Australia Party received 4.7 per cent of the vote.

Liberal and Labor HQs tell two different stories

Leave a Comment